Do the Independent Spirit Awards Winners Show Enough Independent Spirit?

The awards started nearly three decades ago to honor the DIY spirit we still cherish in Echo Park and Silver Lake.

Echo Park and Silver Lake residents are known for their independent ways.

That's certainly true about the artists, musicians and media makers in our midst.

That's why we think some of our readers might be interested in the results of another awards show going on this weekend.

We're talking about the Independent Spirit Awards, which took place Saturday afternoon near the Santa Monica pier.

"Silver Linings Playbook"--also up for an Oscar for Best Picture--won best feature. Jennifer Lawrence, also up for an Oscar, won best actress. David O. Russell, also up for an Oscar, won best screenplay.

Not everyone thinks the awards--nearly three decades old--are so indie anymore.

Indeed, they now take place Oscar weekend, which was not always the case.

Nonetheless, should you care to partake, here is a full list of the winners, courtesy of E!:

Best Feature: Silver Linings Playbook—Producers: Bruce Cohen, Donna Gigliotti, Jonathan Gordon

Best Director: David O. Russell—Silver Linings Playbook

Best Screenplay: David O. Russell—Silver Linings Playbook

Best First Feature: The Perks of Being a Wallfower—Director: Stephen Chbosky; Producers: Lianne Halfon, John Malkovich, Russell Smith

Best First Screenplay: Derek Connolly—Safety Not Guaranteed

John Cassavetes Award: Middle of Nowhere—Writer/Director/Producer: Ava DuVernay; Producers: Howard Barish, Paul Garnes

Best Female Lead: Jennifer Lawrence—Silver Linings Playbook

Best Male Lead: John Hawkes—The Sessions

Best Supporting Female: Helen Hunt—The Sessions

Best Supporting Male: Matthew McConaughey—Magic Mike

Best Cinematorgarphy: Ben Richardson—Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best Documentary: The Invisible War—Director: Kirby Dick; Producers: Tanner King Barklow, Amy Ziering

Best International Film: Amour—Director: Michael Haneke 

Piaget Producers Award: Stones in the Sun—Producer: Mynette Louie

Someone to Watch Award: Gimme the Loot—Director: Adam Leon

Robert Altman Award: Starlet—Director: Sean Baker; Casting Director: Julia Kim; Ensemble Cast: Dree Hemingway, Besedka Johnson, Karren Karagulian, Stella Maeve, James Ransone


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »